Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: cycling failure.

cycling failure.

I am relatively new to the M1 World and would appreciate some assistance in figuring out a problem that I have with my M1 Garand. When I have tried firing my rifle, it would eject the old cartridge; however it would not chamber the next round, giving the impression that it was a short cycling problem. I thought that there might be a problem with the gas cylinder or the operating rod, however after trying a different gas cylinder and having someone check the operating rod, the problem still remained. I checked the operating rod to make sure that it was not rubbing against the stock, and that works fine without any rubbing. All of the moving parts have been cleaned greased as suggested. It was mentioned that the barrel was possibly a replacement and was wondering what the proper gas port diameter is for the hole from the barrel to the gas cylinder is. Any suggestions would be appreciated as to what could be wrong - thanks.

Founding Member Prince Humperdink's Avatar
    First off,Welcome!2nd,when You say the op rod was checked was it for the bend?Did You have the piston diameter checked?Your Gas cylinder could also be out of spec allowing enough gas to pass by that it cannot cycle.I had a case where this happened when I used a worn piston in a worn gas cylinder,but when I used an op rod that was in spec it worked fine,and the worn piston functioned with an"as new" gas cylinder.HTH,
    Ryan
    "The advantage of being armed, which the Americans possess over the people of almost every other nation ... forms a barrier against the enterprises of ambition, more insurmountable than any which a simple government of any form can admit of." -- James Madison (1788)