Thread: Reload annomally

Founding Member Prince Humperdink's Avatar

Question Reload annomally

I have been finding that some of My loads are failing to fire,but the primer is getting struck as normal.The bullet enters the bore about 1",and upon inspection I find that the Powder is intact,but some is dicolored and stuck together.I have been reloading for about 20 years,and have never had this happen.ideas?
    thanks,
    Ryan
    "The advantage of being armed, which the Americans possess over the people of almost every other nation ... forms a barrier against the enterprises of ambition, more insurmountable than any which a simple government of any form can admit of." -- James Madison (1788)

btw,These are for my M1's
    "The advantage of being armed, which the Americans possess over the people of almost every other nation ... forms a barrier against the enterprises of ambition, more insurmountable than any which a simple government of any form can admit of." -- James Madison (1788)

Junior Cadet
    I have seen this happen before.Contamination of the powder from some types of tumbling media additives on the inside of the case,bullet lubes on cast bullets migrating into the powder,case lubes getting inside the case prior to charging with powder.One incident I saw the primer fired and pushed the powder which was one solid chunk and the bullet about an inch out of the case.The powder was stuck to the base of the bullet when he knocked the bullet out with a ramrod.
    Death is but another path we all must take.

That makes a lot of sense!I recently started using a tumbler and the media is dyed walnut shells.It used to leave red residue,but I never thought about it!I do know that the Powder still burns when dumped out,but must be contaminated by the primer?Thank You,
    Ryan

Junior Cadet