Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Confusing Ejection Issue

Confusing Ejection Issue

Shot the Mini G again today. Love that rifle. I was pinging steel targets at 210 off-hand and 270 off a rest. Near the end of the day, I started playing with the gas plug. It was ejecting at 1-3 o'clock on the factory setting, but I wanted to get it closer to 5 per Tim's suggestion. First of all, nowhere in the instructions does it tell you which way to turn the key to allow more or less gas back to the oprod. I was assuming counter clockwise would allow less and clockwise more, but I was working blind. Through multiple minor adjustments I was able to get it ejecting at 5 o'clock, but its not consistent. While most stayed in the 3-5 range, 1 or 2 ejected up at 1 o'clock, all with the same setting. Also, I was getting failure to feeds. The first I've had with the rifle. I thought feed failures were the result of too much gas getting to the oprod causing it to move too fast to load the next round. But if it was getting too much gas, wouldn't it be throwing brass to the 12 o'clock position? I'm getting ftf's with brass at 5. I also had a handful of instances where the bolt did not close all the way. I'm talking maybe the last 1/8 inch. Just enough to make you think its closed at a glance, but not enough to rotate the bolt closed and enable the firing pin to strike the primer. Gas related? or just getting dirty? I'm super confused here. Hindsight 20/20, I should've stayed at the factory setting, but I really wanted to fine tune the gas system to ease wear on the rifle. Any help is appreciated.
    Last edited by HerkyBird; 11-14-2012 at 08:18 PM.

The more gas the closer to 12 the brass will be ejecting. Too much gas or too little gas will cause failures to feed, one from a fast bolt speed and the other from short stroking. I would adjust it till it's reliable and call it a day.