Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: stock finishing

stock finishing

following up on the lead posted by member axe murderer, I picked up a rough Nigerian type stock (just wood, no metal) from ebay. I was able to get some parts from Greg at Satandard (still looking for a Beretta grip in good shape). Anyway, this is what I've managed to piece together. The stock was very rough when I received it, pretty much no sanding done to it, but it turned out to have some nice grain. I'm not experienced at working on wooden stocks, so I find myself out of my element. I'd like to finish it with linseed oil, but when I started to sand it to get a smooth surface to stain, a void in the grain appeared on the stock. I know this may seem nit picky but I thought that I'd like to try to fill the hole with something that might make it less noticable once I've applied a couple coats of oil and sanded it down. Can any members with stock finishing experience give me any advice on how best to fill the hole in the stock to make it less noticable? zpfile006.jpgzpfile006.jpgzpfile005.jpgzpfile005.jpg

If you have a scrap piece of walnut (I'm assuming that's what your stock is made of), take the scrap piece, and a sander, and make some dust. Once you have a decent amount of walnut dust, find a small, shallow can or cup, dump some of the dust in, and mix in enough Tru-Oil to make a thick paste (thick like the store-bought wood fillers in a can). Viola, homemade "plastic wood". You can fill the void in in one pass, but it will take several days to harden (a week or more if it's really deep). I prefer to put it on thin, so the layers dry faster, and build it up a little proud, so you can blend it back down level with the stock. It probably won't be a perfect match, but it won't be nearly as noticeable as it was, and if you're anything like me, it'll keep you from digging at it with your thumbnail constantly .