Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: broken receiver...

Junior Cadet

broken receiver...

hello all,

first, this is a great website and i'm proud to be a part of it.

the other day i was out shooting my inland carbine and noticed that the mag well seemed kind of loose and the cartridges weren't feeding smoothly into the chamber. i took a closer look and saw that the lug on the bottom of the receiver where the pin goes in to hold the trigger housing group was broke clean off.

bugger!

not only that, but it cracked the stock directly in front of the area where the lug butts up against the stock. very expensive day at the range!

i'm new to the carbine world and have to ask if this is a common problem.
    i was shooting my own reloads and absolutely trust my work. everything i do is double checked. i was using 14.8 grs. of hodgdon H 110 powder (close to, but not the max load) with hornady 110 gr fmj bullets.
    all i can think of is metal fatigue. everything on the rifle was properly tightened down.

has anyone ever heard of this happening?

thanks.

Welcome Chaindrive. As far as I know you can't double-charge a carbine case so that's out. I'm at a loss on this one. Stu
    When dealing with liberals, always attribute to malice what would ordinarily be attributed to incompetence.

"Of course it won't be easy; nothing worthwhile ever is. That is why I have always failed where others have succeeded."-Clouseau

Nope never heard of it being a issue before
    Welcome to the forum
    "I am the master of my unspoken words, and a slave to those that should have remained unspoken. ...

"Official 2010 Mini-G & 2011 Summer Postal Shoot Biggest Looser"

Founding Member Prince Humperdink's Avatar
    I agree with the others about double charge,as I use 14 grns of powder and the bullet darn near,or does sit on it..btw,Welcome to the forum!
    Ryan