PDA

View Full Version : Bow hunting

howie
10-19-2011, 09:09 PM
'Tis the season once again here in Illinois. The weather hasn't been cooperating, as the first two weeks saw highs in the mid 80's. It's cooled off considerably but it's been too windy the last couple days. Hopefully I'll be back out Friday.

I am a newbie to the sport, my son and I just started last year. We didn't kill anything then, but had a blast just sitting in stands and blinds. We're hunting a 37 acre patch at my little brother's place, mixed timber and open fields, native grasses, right on the bluff of a river. There's lots of sign, lots of food. We'll see what happens.

Since I'm a newbie I was wondering if any of you more seasoned and skilled archers would be willing to part with any tips/lessons you've learned over the years, in hopes that between the two of us we might have to buy a bigger freezer. I would love to hear any advice you would be willing to share. Now, I'll just sit back and watch.....

cuppednlocked
10-19-2011, 11:26 PM
The only thing I can really tell you is to control your scent, and to try and prevent the deer from patterning you. Enter/exit the stands from different directions.

Colter44
10-20-2011, 07:41 AM
Try to get in the stand an hour before day break, it gives the woods time to settle down after you have tracked in and stirred everything up. Try hunting all day, specially during rut. There have been a lot of bucks taken during the off time, between 10 and 2. Deer will pick up on your patterns just as you pick up on theirs, change it up every now and then. Most importantly, enjoy the woods and the hunt with your son as often as you can!

timshufflin
10-20-2011, 09:03 AM
I will fly in the face of every person who has ever hunted deer so here I go.

1. You must hunt where there IS deer. You can hunt all day and night but if there aren't deer, have fun with your nappy time.