PDA

View Full Version : Gentlemen this is why you don't buy 1911's made with MIM

paid4c4
07-15-2012, 05:48 PM
More and more of the cheaper 1911 manufacturers are using Metal Injection Molding in their building process. This is in leu of the more expensive forged or casting metal pieces. MIM tends to fail especially under a little stress or age. Here is a picture of a MIM slide which failed under normal but extended use. Ouch, I'm glad it wasn't in my hand.
Bill538

howie
07-15-2012, 05:51 PM
Not good...on a Springfield, even! Do you know how to tell, Bill, whether you've got an injected or forged slide? I'm no expert...have a firestorm and RIA 1911.

timshufflin
07-15-2012, 06:53 PM
Not good...on a Springfield, even! Do you know how to tell, Bill, whether you've got an injected or forged slide? I'm no expert...have a firestorm and RIA 1911.

Yah, is there a tell or is it just known manufacturers?

LEAD POISON
07-15-2012, 07:17 PM
DANG ! Is my ss springer V10 mim???

Orlando
07-15-2012, 07:17 PM
Bill
I thought SAI 1911 frames and slides were steel forged ?
Any info on the 1911 pictured? The way the slide and grips are cracked I am wondering if there isnt more to the story than supposeably bad parts

paid4c4
07-15-2012, 07:28 PM
Guys, sorry to have sounded a false alarm but I was going by what was originally posted. I see there has been a totally different story posted.
Here is the link so you can read for yourself.
http://forums.1911forum.com/showthread.php?t=375084
Bill

ordmm
07-15-2012, 11:29 PM
Would think at this time that a whole bunch of firearms would be unaffordable if MIM parts were not used. I know everybody wants to see all those nice machine marks, but them days are long gone. Remember when the Glocks first hit the market....damn plastic guns. Times change, we all like traditional firearms, but without modern materials and manufacturing we probably would not see all the firearms we have to choose from today.

Greg

mixmaster
07-16-2012, 12:45 AM