PDA

View Full Version : Stock Fitment Issue

TommyD11730
04-26-2013, 11:34 PM
Guys

I have a Mixmaster Garand I purchased back in the 80's. Had a barrel replaced on it loaclly way back when, and basically haven't shot it much till now.

Considering how loose the gun is in the stock it's really a good shooter. Seriously you can stop laughing it does shoot well! Ok so what if I have a few cereal box "shims" wedged between the trigger groups and the stock to take up some space!

What I'm getting at is I like the stock. Can I make some delron shims or the likes (to replace my cardboard ones!) so I can keep shooting it?

Thanks guys!

Tommy D

LEAD POISON
04-26-2013, 11:50 PM
magnet tape cut to size.on both edges,wood vaneer strips.
Ask Orlando, or Sean or Mr Borecki

precision32
04-27-2013, 02:04 AM
The GI way to tighten up the action is to peen the two small tits that lock the trigger group in the action. If that does not seem like an option you can replace the trigger guard with one hat has better locking lugs.

Orlando
04-27-2013, 07:02 AM
The GI way to tighten up the action is to peen the two small tits that lock the trigger group in the action. If that does not seem like an option you can replace the trigger guard with one hat has better locking lugs.

That only helps some "if" the trigger guard lugs are flat.

To the OP:
If wood is compressed the only 100% way is bedding the stock.
You can add shims as already suggested ,I glue in thin walnut veneer and stain
If you are using more than one thickness of cardboard now the stock is either very comressed or it is a combination of compressed wood and flat lugs.
May want to check you lugs as suggested then shim as needed. Peening the lugs doesnt seem to hold up very long and gaurd may just need replaced
Good luck

TommyD11730
04-27-2013, 11:07 AM
Thanks Guys